NordVPN review

A virtual private network (VPN) such as we are gonna see in the NordVPN

review, extends a private network across a public network and enables users to send and receive data across shared or public networks as if their computing devices were directly connected to the private network.

A VPN is created by establishing a virtual point-to-point connection through the use of dedicated circuits or with tunneling protocols over existing networks. A VPN available from the public Internet can provide some of the benefits of a wide area network (WAN). From a user perspective, the resources available within the private network can be accessed remotely



VPN technology was developed to allow remote users and branch offices to access corporate applications and resources. For more security, the private network connection is established using an encrypted layered tunneling protocol, and VPN users use authentication methods, including passwords or certificates, to gain access to the VPN. In other applications, Internet users may secure their connections with a VPN to override geo-restrictions and censorship, as many users do in china and other restrictive countries. Another reason is to connect to proxy servers to protect personal identity and location to stay anonymous on the Internet. Many websites, however, have developed a technology to block access to known VPN technology to prevent the overriding of their geo-restrictions, and many VPN providers have been developing strategies to get around these roadblocks too. You can read more on VPN in general in wikipedia.

 

NordVPN Black Friday deal: grab the 3-year plan with 83% off and get two amazing gifts: 3 extra months + NordLocker file encryption app (worth $312)

 

Who creates NordVPN?

NordVPN was established in 2012 by “four childhood friends”, as stated by its website. Late in May 2016, it presented an Android app, followed by an iOS app in June the same year. In October 2017, it launched a browser extension for Google Chrome. In June 2018, the service launched an application for Android users. As of October 2019, NordVPN was operating more than 5,200 servers in 62 countries

How does NordVPN work?

features

NordVPN routes all users’ internet traffic through a remote server run by the service, thereby hiding their IP address and encrypting all incoming and outgoing data. For encryption, NordVPN uses the OpenVPN and Internet Key Exchange v2/IPsec technologies in its applications. Besides general-use VPN servers, the provider offers servers for specific purposes, including P2P sharing, double encryption, and connection to the Tor anonymity network.

At one time NordVPN used L2TP/IPSec and Point-to-Point Tunneling Protocol (PPTP) connections for routers, but these were later removed, as they were largely obsolete and insecure.

NordVPN has desktop applications for Windows, macOS, and Linux, as well as mobile apps for Android and iOS and Android TV app. Subscribers also get access to encrypted proxy extensions for Chrome and Firefox browsers. Subscribers can connect up to 6 devices simultaneously.

In November 2018, NordVPN claimed that its no-log policy was verified through an audit by PricewaterhouseCoopers AG.



In July 2019, NordVPN released NordLynx, a new VPN tool based on the experimental WireGuard protocol, which aims for better performance than the IPsec and OpenVPN tunneling protocols. NordLynx is available to Linux users and, according to tests performed by Wired UK, produces “speed boosts of hundreds of MB/s under some conditions.”#

Reception

In a February 2019 review by PC Magazine, NordVPN was praised for its strong security features and an “enormous network of servers”, although its price tag was noted as expensive. CNET’s March 2019 review favorably noted NordVPN’s six simultaneous connections and dedicated IP option. In a positive review published by Tom’s Guide in October 2019, the reviewer concluded that “NordVPN is affordable and offers all the features that even the hardcore VPN elitists will find suitable”. The reviewer also noted that its terms of service mention no country of jurisdiction, writing that the company could be more transparent about its ownership. The company has since updated the Terms, explicitly mentioning Panama as its country of jurisdiction. TechRadar recommended NordVPN for bypassing state-level Internet censorship, including the Great Firewall in China.

NordVPN Black Friday deal: grab the 3-year plan with 83% off and get two amazing gifts: 3 extra months + NordLocker file encryption app (worth $312)

NordVPN review

Pros and Cons of  NordVPN

Pros

– The privacy policy does not accept cooperating with the government.

– They have unlimited servers switches, unlimited datas and unlimited speed.

– The manual configuration is available

– They have servers in 61 countries

– The support is 24/7, over the phone, emails or live chat.

– Great value for the money, especially the 70% discount available.

Cons

– Not having servers in a lot of countries.

– The manual configuration in only available fo rwindows phone, blackberry, linux, and countries with restrictions on windows.

– The servers were hacked once.

FAQ

1.How do I set up my NordVPN?

You can choose to connect your NordVPN by setting up a router.

Setting up a router with a VPN connection can be convenient if you have a lot of devices you want to protect. It’s also useful if you have devices that do not support VPN directly.

Wondering what router is best for you? Here is an article about the router we recommend to use with NordVPN for both best performance and security.

For a VPN connection on your router to work, it has to support OpenVPN. Furthermore, it has to support it as a “Client” (as opposed to a “Server”) to allow you to connect it to NordVPN servers.

So first, you need to find out if your router supports the necessary protocols. To do that, a) read the router user’s manual (you can usually find it on the manufacturer’s website), b) contact your retailer, or c) check your router settings. Mind that most ISP-issued routers do not support VPN configurations.

Note: If the router lists a protocol being supported in the “pass-through” mode, it will most likely not work. “Pass-through” simply means that the router does not block VPN connections from devices connected to it. However, that does not say whether you can configure the router itself.

2. How to set up NordVPN in a country with internet restrictions?

In order to connect to our servers from countries with internet restrictions, please follow the steps below:

  • Make sure you are connecting through the Quick Connect option on our applications with UDP connection protocol;
  • If you still cannot connect using the Quick Connect, try connecting specifically to Singapore, Japan, Canada, the United Kingdom or the United States;
  • If still no luck using the methods above, we have a workaround with manual connection methods.

You can also connect it manually. Here is the steps to follow for connecting NordVPN in a country with internet restriction on a Windows device.

    1. Download the OpenVPN GUI application.
    2. Open the installer file.Follow the setup wizard.NordVPN review
    3. Once the application is installed, you have to download the NordVPN server configuration files – using these files. The OpenVPN app uses these files to connect to specific NordVPN servers. In order to download them, click on the links below.Servers

 

    1. Go to the folder where the configurations are downloaded. Click and drag to select the OpenVPN configurations that you have just downloaded, then right-click on them and select Copy.
    2. You’ll have to extract the configuration files you need to this directory:
      C:\Program Files\OpenVPN\config\
      5.1. To quickly find the OpenVPN /config/ folder, right-click the OpenVPN GUI shortcut on your desktop and select Open file location.NordVPN review5.2. Once you’re there, click the parent OpenVPN folder in the address bar.And open the config folder.5.3 Paste the copied configuration files in the folder. To do that, right-click anywhere in the folder and select Paste:Click Continue to allow the files to be extracted to the folder:
    3. Now that the configuration files have been loaded into the proper folder for the application to detect them, let’s open the OpenVPN GUI app itself. Double-click the shortcut on your desktop.
    4. Allow the application to make changes to your device that’s necessary for a VPN connection.
    5. The application will start running in the system tray. It’s the area near your clock:It might also be in the hidden system tray area:
    6. Right-click on the application icon, hover over one of the servers, and click Connect.
    7. Enter your NordVPN username and password and click OK.NordVPN review
    8. In a few seconds, the application will connect, and its window will disappear. The system tray icon will turn green and indicate that you are connected when you hover over it:

 

And that’s it! You should be successfully connected. To disconnect, right-click on the application icon, hover over the server, and click Disconnect.

3. How to watch netflix on NordVPN?

To ensure secure access to Netflix, you can connect to any of our servers listed below. We recommend using the servers closest to your location for the best connection speed and stability.

Netflix US:
You should connect to any of our servers in countries other than Canada, Germany, the United Kingdom, France, Italy, Japan, Australia, the Netherlands and Spain.

NordVPN Black Friday deal: grab the 3-year plan with 83% off and get two amazing gifts: 3 extra months + NordLocker file encryption app (worth $312)

Netflix CA:
You should connect to any of our servers in Canada.

Netflix DE:
You should connect to any of our servers in Germany.

Netflix UK:
You should connect to any of our servers in the United Kingdom.

Netflix FR:
You should connect to any of our servers in France.

Netflix IT:
You should connect to any of our servers in Italy.

Netflix JP:
You should connect to any of our servers in Japan.

Netflix AU:
You should connect to any of our servers in Australia.

Netflix NL:
You should connect to any of our servers in the Netherlands.

Netflix ES:
You should connect to any of our servers in Spain.

If you are still experiencing issues, try following these additional steps:

For Windows, macOS, Linux

1. Clear the cache of your browser. You can do that by following this article: https://nordvpn.com/blog/how-to-clear-your-cache/.
2. Restart the NordVPN app.
3. Set up NordVPN DNS addresses 103.86.96.100 and 103.86.99.100 on your device.
4. Restart your device.

For Android, iOS, and routers

1. If you are using the Netflix application, restart it.
2. Restart the NordVPN app.
3. Set up NordVPN DNS addresses 103.86.96.100 and 103.86.99.100 on your device.
4. Restart your device.



Note: We currently do not support Netflix on TV devices and consoles.

 Conclusion of NordVPN review

NordVPN

is the best VPN you can find actually in the market. What I like the most is the fact that they do not share information with government. Do not get me wrong, I would not accept that this rule may set free some criminals, but I am sure with the proper investigation, bad guys will always get caught. It is just that when I am using a VPN service I would like my anonymity to be respected to the letters. So, I do not want my information to be shared with anyone. Sometimes, the fundamental reason for sharing information can be good but it can also lead to abuse.

Make sure to check my post on creating a website for your business, using a NordVPN can improve it.

So, with your NordVPN account you are sure to keep your privacy and get the best service possible.

Kindle let me know what you think and feel free to ask any question!

Thanks

NordVPN

$3.49
4.8

Service offered

4.8/5

Support

4.8/5

privacy

4.9/5

10 thoughts on “NordVPN review”

  1. NordVpn looks like the best VPN out there, and it is extremely cheap! That’s why i love it. But i would like to buy NordVPN for Netflix so that i can watch movies form the UK but i am not sure if it works because not all VPN works with Netflix. Thats why i am going to ask you if you know if it works with Netflix?

    Amazing article and keep up the good work!

    Reply
    • Toward the end of the post, there is a section on how to watch Netflix from NordVPN, check that for all the details.

      Thanks

      Reply
  2. In our world today, the use of Internet security is also equivalent to having a normal home security because just like ta home, we spend a whole lot of time on the internet as well. Getting to learn all about Nord VPN is great. I can’t say I have not heard about it before. It is considered one of the best VPN out there but there is some new information on it that I find fascinating. I use a different VPN though but I should like to try this too.

    Reply
    • I hope you give it a try and get the awesome offer that they are running now, you will surely enjoy it!

      thanks

      Reply
  3. Nord VPN is actually a very good VPN. I had made use of it before and to be honest, I really enjoyed the safety it awarded me online by making me anonymous thereby, I was able to run everything smoothly without fear of being monitored or checked out. This is really good vpn and the plans are really okay and very good to purchase. Very well detailed review you have written about it and thumbs up

    Reply
    • NordVPN is really the best that you will find in the market that can guarantee your privacy and more.

      Thanks

      Reply
  4. Hello Davina, the NordVPN is a very good one and I have really enjoyed reading all the information you have given in this article about it. Encryption of IP addresses can be really difficult and some people have stolen lots of information about various people because they do not make use of a VPN. I love the fact that the NordVPN is available in 61 countries, and it’s fee is quite okay. 

    Reply
    • it is available worldwide and they have servers in 61 countries.

      Thanks

      Reply
  5. Thanks for the guide. I’m interested in using or subscribing with NordVPN, being an activist involved in criticizing our government here, I need ways to elude the eyes of our law enforcers here who became like private armies of the corrupt government and the only way I think is through the use of VPN. But the problem is, whenever I attempt to use a VPN, the internet provider is cutting off my internet connection with a notice that what I’m doing is illegal. How can I deal with this problem?

    Reply
    • I think that is a big problem. Because it seems like your government has made the use of VPN illegal. It will be hard to bit that unless you can use another provider who does not bow to the government ban.

      Thanks

      Reply

Leave a Comment